Lima COP20 | CMP 10 / About Peru

About Peru

acer-del-peru

Climate

Peru is a mega-diverse country: it has the second most extensive Amazon forest after Brazil, the largest tropical mountain range, 71% of the tropical glaciers of the world, 11 eco-regions, 84 life zones identified, and 27 of the 32 climates of the world. Its climate varies according to each geographic region.

Thus, in the coast there are two different regions: arid subtropical climate region, which comprises the central coast and the southern coast, with an average annual temperature of 18,2 ºC, with maximum temperatures in summer of 26 ºC and minimum temperatures in winter of 13 ºC; and the semitropical climate region, located to the north of Peru, with an average annual temperature of 24 ºC. In the highlands, the climate varies from temperate-warm to freezing. In the intermediate levels of the mountain range (between 2 500 and 3 500 masl), the average annual temperature varies between 11 ºC and 16 ºC.

In the jungle, three climate regions are distinguished: eyebrow of jungle, upper jungle and lower jungle. The first one is characterized by a tropical climate, with an average annual temperature ranging between 22 ºC and 26 ºC, and in turn, is the wettest region of Peru. Upper jungle has also a tropical climate, with an annual temperature of 31 ºC and few thermal variations during the year, which makes it hotter. The third one has a warm and humid climate, with rainfalls that do not exceed 3 000 mm yearly.

Time Zone

Peru is in the -5h, GMT * time zone of the following day

Lima 12:00 h London 17:00 h
New York 12:00 h Berlin 18:00 h
Buenos Aires 14:00 h Paris 18:00 h
Santiago 13:00 h Tokyo 02:00 h (*)
Mexico D.F. 11:00 h Sidney 03:00 h (*)

Vaccines

There are no compulsory vaccines for entering Peru, except for the yellow fever vaccine for travelers coming from countries of Africa and America.

Check here the list of recommended vaccines:

Vaccine Recommended for Destinations in which it is recommended
Chickenpox Travelers that have never had chickenpox Nationwide
Hepatitis A All travelers Nationwide
Hepatitis B Travelers that will have contact with the local population for a long time Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín and Madre de Dios
Yellow fever Travelers in forest areas below 2 300 m Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín and Madre de Dios

Yellow fever vaccine must be administered at least ten days prior to the trip for this to be effective.

For more information on vaccines click here: http://www.minsa.gob.pe/portada/viajeros.asp

Currency

The Nuevo Sol (S/.) is the official currency of Peru. There are bills with denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 soles. There are coins of 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 nuevos soles.

US dollars are accepted in multiple commercial establishments, restaurants, hotels and filling stations. It is possible to exchange foreign currency in banks and exchange offices. There are also “money changers” in the streets, but the transaction is not guaranteed.

Usual office hours in the exchange offices are from Monday to Friday from 9:00 a. m. to 6:00 p. m. and Saturdays until noon.

It is possible to find automatic teller machines in almost all cities of the country and most of them are connected to Plus (Visa) and Cirrus (Mastercard/Maestro), American Express networks and others. There, you can withdraw money in nuevos soles or US dollars, but the exchange rate is usually higher.

Source: http://www.peru.travel/?internacional